45th Annual Bristol Tramps Sports Reunion

The Bristol Tramps Sports Reunion continued “Helping Preserve Bristol’s Sports History” by celebrating its 45th annual dinner on Friday, April 10. The event was held at the Aqua Turf, as over 300 guests renewed friendships and paid tribute to this year’s honorees and scholarship winners.

The evening was hosted by toastmistress, Maryellen Holden–who continues to keep the program entertaining and on schedule.  After the Pledge of Allegiance and the invocation by Father Nicolas Melo, the Julie Larese Memorial Scholarships were presented by Julie’s daughter, Marion Gifford to a senior from each of Bristol’s High Schools. Rachel Ann DellaBianca (BEHS), Kelly McMahon (SPCHS) and Andrew Damon-Smith(BCHS) were thoughtful as they acknowledged family, friends and teachers who’ve helped guide them on their journeys.   The Bristol Tramps gratefully acknowledge the following for providing matching funds  toward the $1000 scholarships in memory of their loved ones:  D’Amato Construction, John E Tavera Memorial Fund and The Frank Scalia Family.

Following the family-style dinner, one by one, the honorees acknowledged their families, friends and the crowd was treated to some funny and touching stories.  As the evening was ending, Chairman, John Lodovico praised the honorees and their families and invited everyone back for the 46th event scheduled for April 8. 2016.  John also announced that Bristol Tramps Sports Reunion Secretary, Maryellen Holden would be receiving the Chamber of Commerce’s “Volunteer of the Year” award.

The class of 2015 include: Peter Lamy (Ronald Choiniere Award), Meegan Wright Martin (Lydia Jabs Bailey Award), Dominic Perno (Chuck McCarthy Award), Steve Cowdell (Harp Broderick Award), Jack Krampitz (Bill Garrett Award), Jim Bates (Ed Lodovico Award), Jon Pose (Committee Award), Roberto Clemente League @ Cambridge Park (Tony Savino Award) and the 1980 and 1984 St. Paul Catholic High School, Soccer State Champions (Team Award).

“The 2015 honorees represent some of our community’s greatest assets and have greatly contributed to Bristol’s sports heritage” said Co-Chairman, Tony Carrier.

Nutmeg TV will broadcast the Bristol Tramps Dinner Event on Comcast Channel 95 and Frontier Channel 99 on the following dates: Sunday, April 26, 3pm; Saturday, May 2 at 730pm; and Wednesday, May 6 at 730pm.

Bristol Tramps Class of 2015 Photo L-R Front Row: Coach Tony Lodovico, Peter Lamy, Rachel Anne DellaBianca, Kelly McMahon, Andrew Damon-Smith and Meegan Wright Martin. 2nd Row: Jay Maia, Jack Krampitz, Jon Pose and Steve Cowdell. Backrow: Jim Bates, Dominic Perno


1980 St. Paul High School State Soccer Champions Top-L-R: Henry Kryspyn, Greg Galske, Tom Thompson Bottom-L-R: Ed Roberge, Jim VanHoof, Coach Tony Lodovico, Mike Aldieri 


1984 St Paul High School State Soccer Champions Mike Roy, Owen Schirduan, Coach Tony Lodovico, Sal Penta, “Wing” Gagne





%d bloggers like this: