2013 Sports Reunion Dinner~another stellar evening!

2013 Bristol Tramps Honorees

The Bristol Tramps Sports Reunion lived up to the organization’s motto of “Helping Preserve Bristol’s Sports History” during its 43rd annual dinner on Friday, April 12. The event was held at the Aqua Turf where over 300 guests renewed friendships and paid tribute to this year’s honorees and scholarship winners.

The evening was hosted by toastmistress, Maryellen Holden–who each year keeps the program entertaining and on schedule. Bob Montgomery prepared a marvelous tribute to recently deceased Tramps Committee member, Donald Cassin, whose wife and family were in attendance.

Prior to the family-style dinner, the Julie Larese Memorial Scholarships were presented by Julie’s daughter, Marion Gifford to a senior from each of Bristol’s High Schools. Emily Spinelli (BEHS), Michael Skorupski (SPCHS) and Eric Aldieri (BCHS) were thoughtful and brief in their speeches.

The Class of 2013 include: Tonya Hall (Ronald Choiniere Award), Michelle Guerette (Lydia Jabs Bailey Award), Mary Hurwitz (Chuck McCarthy Award), Joseph Mone (Harp Broderick Award), William Masci (Bill Garrett Award), Stephen Pikiell (Ed Lodovico Award), Dan Valerio, Jr. (Committee Award), Bristol Girls Little League Softball (Tony Savino “Pay it Forward” Award) and the 1985 BCHS Wrestling (Team Award). The night was filled with wonderful memories, great stories, some funny and others inspirational.

“The 2013 honorees represent some of our community’s greatest assets and in more ways than one have contributed to Bristol’s sports heritage” said Chairman, John Lodovico. “We are thrilled to have this group as part of our Bristol Tramps Family”.

The 2014 event is scheduled for Friday, April 11.  Nominations (and requirements) for the Class of 2014 will be accepted through November 1 by accessing the Bristol Tramps website at www.aithene.net/newtramps





%d bloggers like this: