41st Annual Bristol Tramps Sports Reunion Dinner Recap

Bristol Tramps Award Winners for 2011
2011 Honorees Front Row (L-R): Edward D’Amato, Sr., Andrea DiVenere, Jordan Derosier, Greg Fradette, Craig Levesque, Al Lorenzetti. Back Row (L-R): Hank Lodge, Bob DeSantis, Stacey Clingan, Donna Papazian and Ed Phalen.

The Bristol Tramps Sports Reunion lived up to the organizations motto of “Helping Preserve Bristol’s Sports History” during its 41st annual dinner on Friday, April 15. The event held at the Aqua Turf, was said to have been “taken up a notch or two” as over 430 guests renewed friendships and paid tribute to this year’s honorees and scholarship winners.

The evening was hosted by toastmistress, Maryellen Holden–who each year manages to keep the program entertaining and on schedule. Donna Papazian prepared a wonderful tribute to the recently deceased Tramps Chairman, Thomas Murrone, whose wife and family were in attendance.

Following the family-style dinner, the Julie Larese Memorial Scholarships were presented by Julie’s daughter Marion Gifford to a senior from each of Bristol’s High Schools. Jordan Derosier (BEHS), Reid Roberge (SPCHS) and Andrea DiVenere (BCHS) were thoughtful and brief in their acceptance speeches.

“The 2011 Award winners represent some of our community’s greatest assets and in more ways than one have contributed to Bristol’s sports heritage” said newly appointed Chairman, John Lodovico.

The class of 2011 include: Craig Levesque (Ronald Choiniere Award), Stacey Clingan (Lydia Jabs Bailey Award), Hank Lodge (Chuck McCarthy Award), Al Lorenzetti (Harp Broderick Award), Bob DeSantis (Bill Garrett Award), Donna Papazian (Ed Lodovico Award), Edward D’Amato, Sr. (Committee Award), Bristol Boys and Girls Club and Family Center (Tony Savino “Pay it Forward” Award) and the 1989/1990 BCHS Basketball (Team Award).

The night was filled with wonderful memories, great stories, some funny and others inspirational.





%d bloggers like this: